Connecting linkedin


Lay Member of Safety Committee

Lay Member of Safety Committee

  • Location:

    London, England

  • Sector:

    Trustee / Non-exec Director

  • Contract type:


  • Contact:


  • Contact email:

  • Salary high:


  • Salary low:


  • Job ref:


  • Published:

    over 3 years ago

  • Expiry date:


The AAGBI Foundation

is seeking to appoint

a lay member of its Safety Committee


The Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI), founded in 1932, is the national professional organisation for nearly 11,000 members, representing the largest medical specialty in the NHS. The AAGBI's aims are to enhance patient safety, education and research in anaesthesia The AAGBI's charitable arm, the AAGBI Foundation, is seeking to recruit a lay member to join its Safety Committee, which reports to the Foundation Board.


Anaesthetists (including intensive care and pain specialists) are involved in over 60% of episodes of in-patient care in the NHS. The AAGBI provides education (via meetings, seminars, & web based learning), research funding, guideline development, professional support (such as wellbeing & mentoring) and funding for international work in low resource countries. It also publishes one of the world's leading anaesthetic journals and maintains a renowned museum.

About the lay member role

This is a voluntary role (unremunerated except for expenses) and offers an opportunity to contribute to the strategic development of, a leading medical organisation dedicated to promoting patient safety and quality of care in this country and worldwide. Safety is at the heart of the organisation's activities.

The Safety Committee plays a vital role in advising the Foundation board, responding to safety issues as they arise.

We seek a lay member with a strong interest in patient safety and a relevant background in safety.

Role of the Safety Committee

The Committee is chaired by an elected member of Council. Its membership is made up of other elected members of the Council and Board, who are all anaesthetists, and co-opts. The Committee is advised by senior professional staff (including the Executive Director). It meets three times a year at the AAGBI headquarters in central London.

The main functions of the committee are:

  • To advise on matters of patient safety in anaesthetic practice
  • To provide expert opinion on safety issues highlighted by members, the pharmaceutical industry and equipment manufacturers
  • To liaise with the Department of Health (DoH), Barema, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA), Royal College of Anaesthetists (RCoA), NHS Improvement, NHS Wales, NHS Scotland, NHS Northern Ireland, Association of British Healthcare Industries (ABHI), Health and Safety Executive (HSE) or equivalent, Health and Safety Executive Ireland (HSE Ireland), Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA), and the medical defence organisations on safety initiatives
  • To propose/suggest seminars and guidelines on safety aspects of anaesthetic practice Lay member Role description and person specification

The lay member will be a co-opted member of the committee and involved in all aspects of the Safety Committee's work The lay member could be an individual with a background in one or more of the following areas:

patient safety issues, safety (possibly from another sector), multi-disciplinary working in a related field, such as medical or social science research, the pharmaceutical industry and equipment manufacturer.

The lay member will have the ability to contribute ideas and constructive challenge at a time of modernisation and development.

Their personal characteristics we seek may include:

  • Objectivity with an ability to act as a critical friend
  • Experience of committee work
  • Be available for three Safety Committee meetings a year (usually in London)
  • Be a good communicator who is able to contribute views effectively in a multi-disciplinary, professional setting
  • Be IT literate to allow some work to be carried out by email or via web-based links
  • Committed to diversity and equality and supportive of the AAGBI diversity policy

Key relationships

Chair of the Safety Committee, all Officers, Senior Management and other staff of the AAGBI Foundation as required.

Applications invited by Monday 18th December 2017. Expressions of interest are invited via a letter and CV to the Executive Director, Karin Pappenheim. Your application should address the role description and person specification. Please send your letter and CV to Karin Pappenheim at

Panel interviews will be arranged in London for short-listed candidates on Wednesday 17th January 2017.